Foreign Ministry: Agreement on mutual travel of citizens between Uzbekistan and Tajikistan not entered into force

Tashkent, Uzbekistan ( -- An intergovernmental agreement on mutual travel of citizens, envisaging for visa-free travel of citizens of the two countries for up to 30 days, has not yet entered into force, the press service of the Uzbek Foreign Ministry said.

The document was signed within the framework of the state visit of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev to the Republic of Tajikistan on 9-10 March 2018.

"In connection with reports in the media of about the beginning of the operation of this Agreement and in order to avoid inconveniences for citizens at the border checkpoints, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan explains that for the application of this Agreement, the parties must complete the internal procedures (approval / ratification)”, the Uzbek ministry’s statement reads.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan together with the Tajik partners will make every effort for speedy implementation of the relevant procedures, the Foreign Ministry added.

The date of entry into force of the Agreement will be reported additionally, the Foreign Ministry stated.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel to keep in touch with latest news. Open this link in any device and click Join button.