Protocol to Agreement between Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan on border checkpoints comes into force

Tashkent, Uzbekistan ( -- On 15 July 2017, a Protocol on amendments and additions to the Protocol to the Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the checkpoints through the Uzbek-Kazakh state borders from 4 September 2006 came into force.

Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan signed the protocol in Astana on 14 March 2017.

The protocol legally establishes the opening of checkpoints "Ok Oltin-Tselinniy" and "Malik-Syrdarya" on the Uzbek-Kazakh state borders, the press service of the Uzbek Foreign Ministry said.

The opening of the checkpoints allowed the resumption of road communication on the part of the M-39 highway. Checkpoints were officially opened on 11 July 2017.

The document also changes the status of the individual checkpoints "Zangiot-Kaplanbek", "Tashkent-Kazygurt" and "Gulistan-Atameken" to the international one with a round-the-clock operating mode.

Uzbek Foreign Ministry said that this will increase the transit attractiveness of Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan and create favorable conditions for increasing the volume of transit of foreign trade goods of Uzbekistan.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel to keep in touch with latest news. Open this link in any device and click Join button.